Shinshiva Yoga

Within the body exist a series of minor and major energy centers called chakras. The word chakra is Sanskrit for "wheel" or "disk". Each of the seven major chakras has its' own distinct character and relates to a unique aspect of our being. The chakras correlate to levels of consciousness, body functions, colors, elements, sounds, and much more. The blockage or energetic dysfunction in the chakras is believed to give rise to physiological, psychological, emotional, and spiritual disorders.

Anatomically, the seven major charkas are located either along, or just in front of, the spine following a central energy line called the Sushumna. Associated with the chakras is a latent subtle energy called kundalini. At the base of the spine lies the first chakra, called the Muladhara. Within the first chakra, latent consciousness-energy called the kundalini-shakti exists. The Kundalini-shakti can be aroused and directed up the Sushumna. This energy can ascend through each chakra until it reaches the seventh or crown chakra, called the Sahasrara. Within the crown chakra, the kundalini shakti unites with Paramashiva, the Supreme Shiva, bringing one to a state of oneness with the Absolute.